Zucchini Muffins

We have an abundance of zucchini and summer squash in the VH garden right now. I wanted to make Zucchini bread, but . . . I couldn’t find any bread pans. I now know where they are for future endeavors (I actually made whole wheat bread yesterday!), but ended up making muffins instead. Cooking and baking with foods grown in our backyard=healthy, cheap, and seemingly part of a movement that makes us alternative and awesome.

Zucchini Muffins
2 cups grated zucchini (two small zucchini or one large)
1 medium sized banana
1/4 cup water
3 tablespoons chia seeds (flax seed meal should work as well)
1 cup organic whole can sugar
1/2 cup honey
2 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp iodized sea salt
1 tsp allspice

1. Process zucchini in food processor, using grater attachment.

2. Preheat oven to 325; mash banana and combine with zucchini.

3. Make chia “egg” by combining the water and chia seeds. By the time you add them to the mixture, they’ll look like this:

4. To zucchini mixture add honey, sugar, and vanilla extract. Add chia egg.

5. Mix together dry ingredients. Fold wet into dry.

6. Spoon into muffin cups; bake for 26 minutes at 325.

You know what would be absolutely delicious mixed into this baby? Walnuts. Unfortunately . . .

And apparently there is a sale on Zyrtec for those of you who have allergies!

Have you made anything from your garden? 

This post is shared on Fight Back Friday over at Food Renegade!

8 thoughts on “Zucchini Muffins

  1. Yummy yum. You are so much productive. I intend to draw some inspiration from you, not to bake but to do something useful and enjoyable with my time 🙂

      • I know. I can imagine you planning to take on so many more things. For me you’re a person who has reserves of self motivation and get planned things done. Its crazy how we imagine the people we read. 🙂 Oh and I’m not a creep. I promise 😛

  2. Michaela, I am so happy you have your mothers love for baking! These muffins look so good! I plan on giving them a try 🙂 Would you mind if I pinned this to Pinterest (Giving you full credit of course!). Keep it up, I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

