Chocolate Coconut Power Orbs

Have I got a yummy treat for you this morning! Remember how I said that I‘d be doing a lot more creating in the kitchen since I’m living in the Vista House? Well, having access to a fully equipped kitchen + a lot of people to eat whatever yummy creation I make is definitely already prompting me to cook a lot more!

This recipe is adapted from the lovely Angela at Oh She Glows. I constantly drew upon Angela’s story and wisdom for hope within my own healing process. Her’s was the first blog that I ever ‘followed,’ and I still have it bookmarked and check it daily! Her food is inspired, delicious, and super feel-good healthy.

I enjoyed some of these tasty little guys this morning with breakfast this morning!

Chocolate Coconut Power Orbs

1/2 cup raw cashews
3/4 cup pitted dates
1/4 cup prunes
2 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1/4 cup unsweetened coconut (plus more for rolling)
1/4 cup almonds
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp sea salt
3 tbsp maple syrup
1 tbsp chunky natural peanut butter
1/2 tsp vanilla

Process the cashews in a food processor until crumbly. Don’t leave them in too long–we don’t want cashew butter!

Add the pitted dates and prunes. Process until combined and sticky. Add in the rest of the ingredients, minus the almonds, and process until all the ingredients come together.

Pulse in the almonds to your level of desired nut-texture.

Form into balls and roll in coconut. Store in freezer or fridge.

Do you like coconut? What is your favorite recipe that uses it? 


This recipe is shared on Fat Tuesday over at Real Food Forager. 

12 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Power Orbs

  1. Hi Michaela, this is similar to a native recipe here in south India. It is packed with nutrition and is given during menstruation, pre and post natal period as it gives immense strength to the back.
    We use coconut in almost every native recipe. I’ll post something on that for you 🙂

      • Yum! I can’t wait to get these 🙂 I drooled a little bit when I was reading this post… Being pregnant makes me hungry literally all the time! For example, I’m eating oatmeal with craisins right now and I’m going to have a second breakfast in an hour (oh no! I’ve turned into a hobbit!)

  2. These look great. They remind me of a healthier version of no-bake cookies that my mom used to make.

    And yes, I love coconut. It’s great in savory dishes and sweet dishes, but I think my favorite recipe with coconut is Hello Dollies.

  3. Pingback: Indulging in things that are nothing less than bliss « Coffee time conversations

Leave a Reply

