Dare to (Not Compare) Check in Day 6

Good Morning! Happy Sunday!

I am so grateful that this is how I started off Pit Stop Mondays–I think it has definitely set the tone for the rest of the challenges. Now, one week after intentionally not comparing myself to others, I can see that it has definitely made an impact. Since I’m not constantly looking to others to see how I measure up, I’m better able to assess my own abilities and appreciate myself.

Because of this week, I’ve noticed a few patterns that were probably very apparent but that I hadn’t connected before. First, comparison–> a more negative body image, whereas refusing to compare–>more appreciation of my body. When I appreciate my body, I treat it better and listen to its needs–whether it needs food, rest, exercise, etc. I’ve also noticed this week that there has been a drastic decrease in my temptation to binge. Because I’ve been encouraging rather than disparaging myself, I’ve been happier and have had a more realistic (and optimistic) view of myself, and I think that is what has lessened the impact of what has historically been triggering.

One of my close friends with who I have dialogued constructively about these issues shared a parenting practice a mother she knows uses. When her daughter was a baby and toddler, every time she bathed her she would say “beautiful, beautiful, beautiful” as she moved the washcloth over her body. Now that the little girl is starting to bathe herself, she too echoes that she is “beautiful, beautiful, beautiful” as she washes herself. What would happen if we adopted this practice–affirming every part of ourselves as beautiful, beautiful, beautiful?

Another realization: in my quest to avoid comparison, I’ve been focusing primarily on bodies. After going on a run with a guy friend of mine and getting discouraged that he was seemingly fitter than me (after months of only sporadic exercise and running because of an  injury, whereas I’ve been exercising consistently), I realized that I also can’t compare myself to others in terms of performance. I can do my best and no one else’s.

This is a pit stop Monday week practice that I’m going to continue. Many of the others will last only a week, but I’m keeping this around for the long haul.

Have a great week! See you tomorrow for Pit Stop Monday, Week 2!

Have you noticed a subsequent increase in happiness because of a decrease in comparisons? 
What is one challenge you could practice for a week to increase your overall health?  

 

4 thoughts on “Dare to (Not Compare) Check in Day 6

  1. I appreciate your insight on the negative aspects of comparing ourselves to others. That concept is true in many areas, not only body image. For example, for the past year I have been working on developing my abilities as an artist and a writer. When I compare my creations to the work of others, and see what awesome work is being done, I can get discouraged. It takes a certain mindset of realizing my path is my own, my art is authentic to me, and I can appreciate what others do as being part of their own unique creativity. We are brought up in a competitive world, but as I prefer mutual admiration and support, that is where I chose to put my thoughts and efforts. Sometimes easier said than done!

  2. Really nice Michaela.Yes we are happier when we don’t compare. And you’ve got a great body. I feel so. Pls don’t be discouraged. For the fitter look, may be some strength training might help.
    Good that you’re following through your plan. I am lagging behind, but I am on my way 🙂

Leave a Reply

